ReaderCon 2012: Filipino Fridays (1-3)!!!

Filipino Friday

Hello everyone! I know I’ve been pretty M.I.A. lately but I’m participating in this awesome new meme now that ReaderCon 2012‘s so near… Aren’t you excited? This meme started two weeks ago. I am obviously late, but they still welcome late posts, so here I am! You should join.

Okay, lemme start. HI! I’m Blue (but when I’m not trying – and failing – to be a superhero, I’m known as Alexa). Like you most probably are, I am a bookworm. I’m a college student, but I like to think of myself as a frustrated artist. I’m also a shameless fangirl.  

Yep. Like I said. Shameless. (This is Ten from Doctor Who, by the way!) Allons-y!

My favorite books change a lot, but one thing that’s always been constant is my curiosity and constant exploration of genres. I’m in kind of a classic and sci-fi/fantasy fix at the moment, with a dash of old superhero graphic novels. I haven’t been to last year’s ReaderCon, making me doubly stoked for this year’s! I don’t know what to expect, but I know it will be fun!

My mom taught me how to read. I remember the first word she ever made me read was “avocado”. And she was so happy when I got it right the first time! She suspected I must have learned to read somewhere but didn’t know it was called “reading”. My childhood was not spent playing with other kids. I resorted to cartoons and books, and since I was a kid, I’ve had a love affair with books. I really fell in love after getting the first four Harry Potter books when I was six. From Santa! I was so amazed at everything I read that I never stopped, and now here I am, blogging about that love! 

This week’s questions were about reading styles. Here’s the thing. I read anytime, anywhere, and I mean it. ANYWHERE. I’ve read in the loo, in the lift, in the mall, while walking in the mall, in class (when I was younger and could get away with such things), in the bus, in the jeepney, in the dark with a candle as light a la Jose Rizal… anywhere! Reading while moving around doesn’t bother me at all. My parents always told me when I was a kid that I would have to wear glasses if I keep abusing my eyes. It never stopped me, and though I want to take care of my 20/20 vision, I would never be able to. Heh. I read any minute I can, but those are usually located at the wee hours of the morning. I am not really picky about the format (print, ebook, audio), and I utilize these formats to my best advantage.

It’s not the wee hours of the morning yet, but since it’s a Friday (almost a Saturday), I am going to read! Yay! Thank God for the weekend!

PS

Yes. I inserted a picture of alpacas for no good reason other than they’re cute. And they look like the lovechild of a llama and a goat.

About thecodenameblue
Alexa is a perpetually hungry person who loves a lot of things: books, music, food, movies, and a lot of other things she's not very good at, like drawing and sports. Hoper of far-flung hopes and dreamer of improbable dreams. Apparently too lazy to write 'About Me' descriptions.

12 Responses to ReaderCon 2012: Filipino Fridays (1-3)!!!

  1. bookchilla says:

    Nice to meet you, Alexa Avocado! LOL. Lost my 20/20 vision to long working hours in front of a pc, and not books. pretty ironic, right? Haha.

  2. Hahaha! I was waiting for an alpaca reference. 😀 And why do you still have the perfect vision??? Not fair! 😀

    • Alpacas are so cuuuute I can’t even.. :)) I don’t know, I think I got it from my dad. He watches a lot of TV shows with me and reads a lot but he doesn’t wear glasses either, and he’s almost fifty! Haha!

      • Inggit! I should have opted for LASIK years ago, hehe. 🙂

      • Can’t you have LASIK now? But then again, people in glasses are cute! And smart-looking haha, fits with the bookish image. Case in point:



        Eheheh. Hehe. Heh.

      • Pwede naman anytime, but they say that as people get older, they have a tendency to be hyperopic (so sayang naman ang effort sa LASIK if you do it at an older age; hindi na masyadong sulit). 😀

  3. readplaydream says:

    I’ve read somewhere that reading in dim light does not really affect your vision. And like you, I’m very lucky for my 20/20. Internet high five! 😀 On a side note, you’re really lucky you can read anywhere without being distracted.

    PS Alpacas creep me out, like they’re not supposed to look cute like that. Heh heh.

    • Hi! Thanks for dropping by! Well, that fact about the dim light is cool! At least I have something to defend my dim light reading to people :)) and Internet high five! Haha.

      PS
      I still can’t believe alpacas are real, to be honest!

      • readplaydream says:

        Yup, you can look it up. It’s considered a medical myth haha. Although I do wear glasses to correct my astigmatism.

What do you think?

